scheduleS.png
Focus Weeks:
Cosmology: March 22 - 25; 57week 3

F-theory: March 29 - April 1; 58week 4

String Phenomenology: May 3 - 7; 59week 9



Week 1 - The heterotic week

Day
Time
60Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 8
1:30pm
Aud
All participants
Organizational Meeting


2:00pm
Aud
Lara Anderson
Supersymmetry and global constraints in heterotic theories

Tue, Mar 9
10:30am
SSR
Ralph Blumenhagen
61String Vacua: Status and Prospects
Discussion
Wed, Mar 10
10:30am
Aud
Burt Ovrut
Prospects of Heterotic String


2:00pm
MSR
Stanley Deser
Quantum Gravity and Its (Dis)contents
KITP Colloquium
Thu, Mar 11
10:30am
Aud
Michael Ratz
The role of discrete symmetries in string-derived models of particle physics

Fri, Mar 12
10:30am
SSR
James Gray
Introductory Lecture on Heterotic String Compactifications
Lecture

Week 2 - Strings 2010

Day
Time
62Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Mar 16
12:00am
Aud
Ryuichiro Kitano
Thoughts on Supersymmetry and Electroweak Symmetry Breaking

Wed, Mar 17
10:30am
Aud
Stuart Raby
Moduli stabilization and SUSY breaking in heterotic orbifold string models

Thu, Mar 18
10:30am
SSR
Timo Weigand
Introductory Lecture on F-theory, pt. 1
Lecture

2:00pm
SSR
Paul Steinhardt
Cosmology with a Bounce

Fri, Mar 19
10:30am
SSR
Timo Weigand
Introductory Lecture on F-theory, pt. 2
Lecture
Note that Wed, Mar 17 is 63Saint Patrick's Day...

Week 3 - Focus Week: Cosmology

Day
Time
64Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 22
10:30am
Aud
Leonardo Senatore
Inflation, Effective Field Theory and Loops


12:15am
Aud
Mirjam Cvetič
String Theory Bridges to Particle Physics and Cosmology
Director's Blackboard Lunch Seminar

2:00pm
Aud
Enrico Pajer
Dante's Inferno: inflation from axion monodromy

Tue, Mar 23
10:30am
Aud
Phil Lubin
Origin and Fate - The Planck Mission


1:30pm
SSR
Raphael Flauger
Resonant Non-Gaussianity

Wed, Mar 24
10:30am
Aud
Liam McAllister
Nonperturbative Effects in D-brane Inflation


2:00pm
MSR
Robert Brandenberger
Testing String Theory with Cosmological Observations
KITP Colloquium

3:30pm
Aud
Cliff Burgess
D-brane inflation: Status and Prospects
Discussion
Thu, Mar 25
10:30am
Aud
Chao-Lin Kuo
CMB polarization experiments: status and prospect

Note that the KITP will be closed on Fri, Mar 26 due to the 65César Chávez Day.

Week 4 - Focus Week: F-theory

Day
Time
66Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 29
10:30am
Aud
Jonathan Heckman
Minimal F-theory GUTs at the LHC


1:30pm
Aud
Natalia Saulina
Compact F-theory GUTs with PQ symmetry

Tue, Mar 30
10:30am
Aud
Inaki Garcia-Etxebarria
Global F-theory models: instantons and gauge dynamics


1:30pm
Aud
Andres Collinucci
On instanton effects in F-theory

Wed, Mar 31
10:30am
Aud
Martijn Wijnholt / Ron Donagi
Unification in M- and F-theory
Seminar+Discussion

1:30pm
Aud
Vijay Kumar
The F-theory Landscape in Six Dimensions

Thu, Apr 1
10:30am
Aud
Thomas Grimm
Global F-theory GUTs and N=1 duality


1:30pm
Aud
Hans Jockers
Effective Couplings for heterotic strings and F-theory


Week 5

Day
Time
67Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 5
12:15pm
Aud
Brigitte Roethlein
"Scientists are Geeks" contra "Journalists are Clueless":
How to Improve a Difficult Relationship
Director's Blackboard Seminar
Tue, Apr 6
12:00pm
Aud
Joe Conlon
Moduli Stabilization
Discussion
Wed, Apr 7
10:30am
Aud
Massimo Bianchi
Branes at Singularities

Thu, Apr 8
2:00pm
SSR
Bert Schellekens
CFT approaches to String Vacua


Week 6

Day
Time
68Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Apr 13
12:00pm
Aud
Robert Richter
Bottom-up Analysis of MSSM Quivers

Wed, Apr 14
10:30am
Aud
Alon Faraggi
Exophobic Quasi-Realistic Heterotic String Vacua

Wed, Apr 14
2:00pm
MSR
Dieter Lüst
Strings at the LHC
KITP colloquium
Fri, Apr 16
10:30am
SSR
Hans-Peter Nilles
Supersymmetry Breaking Scenarios in String Theory
Discussion
Remember the whale watching tour on Thu, Apr 15 at 10:45am.

Week 7

Day
Time
68Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 19
12:15pm
Aud
Sri Sastry
The Physics of Glasses
Director's Blackboard Seminar
Tue, Apr 20
12:00pm
Aud
Marco Billo
Computation of stringy instanton effects and duality checks

Wed, Apr 21
1:30pm
Aud
Rachel Courtland / Brigitte Roethlein
On and Off the Record: How to Talk to Journalists
Journalists in Residence
Thu, Apr 22
10:30am
SSR
Denis Klevers
Heterotic F-theory Duality and Five-Brane Superpotentials
extra informal seminar
Thu, Apr 22
2:00pm
SSR
Gary Shiu
Holographic Mediation of Supersymmetry Breaking

Fri, Apr 23
10:30am
SSR
V. Braun / K. Bobkov
Moduli Stabilization in Type IIB Orientifolds and G2 manifolds


Week 8

Day
Time
68Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Apr 27
12:00pm
Aud
Taizan Watari
GUTs & String Theory
discussion
Tue, Apr 27
2:00pm
Broida 3302
Ian Morrison
Loop Effects and the IR Stability of de Sitter Space
high energy & gravity seminar
Wed, Apr28
10:30am
Aud
Fernando Marchesano
Non-perturbative effects on seven-branes

Thu, Apr 29
10:30am
SSR
Alexander Westphal
Gravity waves and the LHC: Towards high-scale
inflation with low-energy SUSY

Thu, Apr 29
2:00pm
SSR
Simeon Hellerman
A Universal Inequality in CFT and Quantum Gravity
high energy & gravity seminar
Fri, Apr 30
10:30am
SSR
Pablo Camara
Non-perturbative vacuum destabilization and
D-brane dynamics

Fri, Apr 30
4:00pm
South Hall 6635
David Morrison
A Mathematical Introduction to F-theory
Geo-Topo-Phys Seminar

Week 9 - Focus Week: String Phenomenology

& SVP mini-workshop
Day
Time
68Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
SVP mini-workshop
Mon, May 03
9:15am
MSR
tba
Opening remarks
SVP workshop

9:30am

K. Dienes
Semper FI? Supercurrents, R-symmetries, and the
Status of Fayet-Iliopoulos Terms in Supergravity and String Theory


10:10am

P. Langacker
Alternatives to the GUT Seesaw


10:50am

J. Marsano
Constraining F-theory GUTs


11:30am

Lunch



1:30pm

B. Thomas
String Cosmology, Z' Physics, and Large Numbers of Vacua:
Explicit Models of the String-Theory Landscape


2:10pm

B. Dundee
Stabilizing Moduli and Breaking SUSY in Heterotic Orbifold String Models


2:50pm

M. Schulz
Generalized Compactification and the SU(2) WZW Model


3:30pm

J. Halverson
Instanton Effects in Semi-Realistic MSSM Quivers and F-theory


5:00pm


Wine and Cheese Reception

Tue, May 04
9:30am
MSR
M. Douglas
Questions About the String Landscape
SVP workshop

10:10am

W. Taylor
Global Aspects of the Space of 6D String Vacua


10:50am

P. McGuirk
Holographic Gauge Mediation with Strongly Coupled Messengers


11:30am

Lunch



1:30pm


Discussion of Future Directions for the SVP


4:00pm
Broida 1640
P. Langacker
Hunt for New Physics at the LHC
Colloquium in Phys. Dept.
Wed, May 05
9:30am
MSR
G. Kane
String Theory, Moduli, Dark Matter, and Cosmological History
SVP workshop

10:10am

P. Kumar
Dynamical Realization of the String Axiverse and Solution to the Strong CP Problem


10:50am

K. Bobkov
Kaehler-Independent G2 Fluxless Vacua and their Phenomenology


11:30am

Lunch



1:30pm

E. Kuflik
The LSP in M-Theory


2:10pm

J. Shao
The Implication of F-theory GUTs for LHC


2:50pm

T. Renner
Systematic Investigations of the Free Fermionic Heterotic String Landscape at Baylor University


3:30pm


Workshop Summary and Conclusion


Focus Week SPHENO
Thu, May 06
10:30am
SSR
Lisa Everett
Status of supersymmetry breaking scenarios

Thu, May 06
1:30pm
SSR
Lian-Tao Wang
Modern jet tools for discovering new physics at the LHC

Fri, May 07
10:30am
SSR
Jeff Richman
Early Results and Physics Prospects for the CMS Experiment at the LHC

Fri, May 07
1:30pm
Aud
Jonathan Feng
Implications of Recent Data for Theories of Dark Matter



Week 10

Day
Time
67Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, May 11
12:00pm
Aud
Ignatios Antoniadis
Non-linear supersymmetry and brane dynamics

Tue, May 11
2:30pm
SSR
Mike Douglas
More questions about the string landscape
discussion
Wed, May 12
10:30am
MSR
Katrin Becker
D-brane couplings and background fields

Thu, May 13
2:00pm
SSR
Shanta de Alwis
Comparing Mechanisms of SUSY breaking and Mediation
discussion
Fri, May 14
4:00pm
South Hall 6635
David Morrison
A Mathematical Introduction to F-theory
Geo-Topo-Phys Seminar




*Aud = Auditorium,
SSR = Small Seminar Room,
MSR = Main Seminar Room
FR = Founders' Room
PL = Porthole Lounge
73⬆TOP